Deposit on wrong kayak?

After many years of talking about it, my husband and I finally decided to bite the bullet and get kayaks. I have no experience; his is minimal. He is 6’4", 180 lbs; I am 5’9" 165 lbs. We expect to do mostly still water, lakes, streams and maybe small rivers. But who knows … we’re new to this.

From internet research alone, I had been leaning toward the Manitou 13 or 14; yet after trying a number of boats, we put our deposit on two Tsunami 125s. Now I’m panicked that, despite liking it during the test paddle, it is too big for someone my size. We tried:

Manitou 13 & 14 Select

Tsunami 125, 145, 135

Any thoughts on boat sizing would be appreciated. It’s not clear to me what constitutes a “large” or “smaller” paddler.

don’t make a final decision

– Last Updated: Apr-05-08 8:03 PM EST –

Don't make a final decision before you take the boat on the water and try it out.

Some areas have the paddlefest thing where all the dealers put their boats on a beach and let people try them all. Or many dealers have demo possibilities (whether you get to take a kayak for free, or have to rent it for a day and then are allowed to apply the rental fee towards the purchase of a boat). Or you can sometimes take lessons, which at the same time gets you time in boats.

If that all fails, see if someone nearbye has one you can try out.

But before plunking the cash down for a boat, get in it and make sure it works for you.

We did try them …
I’m sun burnt and sore from trying them. The problem is, how is a novice to know? What feels right to me now, might not feel so right in 6 months.

The salesman should direct me, you might say, but they deal with all types, and sell them what they think they want.

Sizes

– Last Updated: Apr-05-08 8:50 PM EST –

I'm curious why you didn't try the Tsunami 120 or 140.