Destination Advice Please

Hello. I am British, and planning to come to North America (Canada and/or US) this summer. There are two main (very vague) plans that I have, and would be most grateful for any assistance or advice. My geography is a little ropey, and although I have followed lots of these discussion threads with atlas in hand, the vast size of North America is somewhat befuddling, and the use of abbreviations for place names makes things tricky. So, my basic question is, where would you go paddling if time was not really an obstacle???

I am a fairly novice paddler although I have been on extended trips previously. I will be arriving by boat in New York in early June sometime, and travelling by public transport from there onwards. I am very keen on adventures, outdoorsy stuff and wildlife. I have been to Maine once, but not seen any other parts of North America, so it would be a great opportunity to be a tourist aswell. I would love to go to Alaska, and do some ‘full on’ wilderness travel.

My first tentative plan is to go to Maine, and build a sea kayak in Brooklin. Where would be a suitable place to kayak around that area? Can I do it alone? I would like to spend a few weeks on the water if possible.

My second plan is to go anywhere in North America and spend a month or two doing a trip(s). I would need to hire a canoe I imagine. A friend will be joining me for this bit.

I know this is a very vague question, but thought it was worth a try. Many thanks for any assistance you can give me. Regards, Kirsty

Suggestion on Second plan