Dick's SG kayaks question

Hi

I am a noob as far as kayaks go and will be buying an entry level one on the cheap to go fishing on ponds and lakes (And maybe the Florida mangroves).

After getting tired of looking at craigslist and Ebay I went to Dick’s sporting goods.

They have a Potomac 100ES for $200. Then they had a “Quest” (Forgot the brand)for $200 but it was out of stock and only a picture of it was on the display (It can be ordered).

I asked the Dick’s store employee the difference between the two and he said to go with the “Quest” as it is one piece and the “potomac” is 2 pieces. He said 2 pieces Kayaks will eventually start splitting.

Is this true?

Thanks

Patrick

potomec
I paddled with some people that had the Potomecs. They seemed to like them and the price is great. The only think I noticed is that they sit low in the water. The one guy was maybe 220 and I don’t think it would take much more weight than that.

Potomac
Hi

I appreciate the answer. I weight around 175 lbs, I should be fine.

Do you know about buying a 2 piece kayak vs a 1 piece?

Thanks

Patrick

For $200 who cares!
It gets you on the water this spring and if it doesn’t self destruct you can sell it later for $100. If you paddle like you should and sell it when you find a better used boat this winter you’ll have maybe one whole doller per trip cost use on boat.

You’ll spend way more on your paddle ($120 to $200), PFD ($50 to $100), gas to the lake and snacks (many hundreds of dollars).

I think gas is my biggest expense or maybe new tents. Tents don’t last near as long as kayaks even though they only get used about one fifth as much.

For what it’s worth, Patrick,
I got a chance to observe the performance of one of those $200 (on sale) Dick’s kayaks last Sunday when our group paddled down a section of the North Toe River. I also talked to its owner.