DId I miss any models in my search?

-- Last Updated: May-23-10 10:57 PM EST --

Looking to buy my first kayak, however I am far from a beginner. Having some issues finding what I want though. I want more advanced than a recreational rig, but need to handle tighter turns than what a touring rig allows. I want fast smooth tracking above all but still need some handling. Im willing to give up stability, weight, comfort, storage space for these attributes. I like the Dagger Catalyst 128, and absolutely went nuts for the new Hurricane Expedition 128, but for $1100 I want to make sure I didnt miss anything. I live at Lake Hopatcong NJ so most of the time I will be in choppy waters (Lots of power boats) but also like sliding through twisty tight river systems. Planning on some one night camping trips. For white water and ocean tours, I'll just rent something else. Any models $500 to $1100 Im missing?

Have you tried the hybrids?
Or something like the Dagger Alchemy? The latter is a longer boat than you mention but quite maneuverable - and it’ll spin if you take it fully over on edge.

It’s a little hard to make a recommendation. You indicate that turning is a place where touring boats don’t satisfy, but without knowing what you’ve tried paddling that was a problem it’s hard to suggest something.

XP 10…
…would a liquidLogic XP 10 fill the bill ? I have test paddled the boat and i can vouch for the fact that it’ll “spin” easily. Due to my inexperience with such boats …I was spinning that thing around like a top. with the skeg down it tracked very well,very, very little of that “wagging” typical of short boats.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=syBInW19LpM&feature=related

Dagger Alchemy
at $1349 MSRP is over the OP’s stated range.

Pyranha Fusion

– Last Updated: May-24-10 2:59 PM EST –