Difference between marine and

exterior grade plywood? What do I really get for an additional $40 per sheet with marine ?

No voids

– Last Updated: Dec-26-05 7:14 PM EST –

Wha Ho, Pilgrim;

No voids, which can cause problems with bending for one thing and better glues... (I'm assuming you're talking about thin boatbuilding ply)

Fat Elmo

A Very Subjective Observation

– Last Updated: Dec-26-05 8:59 PM EST –

I'm not a wood expert at all, but I can tell you this. My dad built two boats out of one-quarter-inch (perhaps it was even a bit thinner than that) marine-grade plywood when I was just a tyke, and I have used the "surviving" boat a fair amount over the years (that boat is still in excellent condition; the other one got loaned to a friend after we didn't need it anymore, and he chained it to a tree on the shore of a pond for years, and it eventually succumbed to the elements). The wood on that boat is like nothing I've ever seen. It's incredibly strong, and totally flawless. I ran across scraps of wood remaining from those boat-building projects now and then as I was growing up, and I seem to remember that there were as many plys in that quarter-inch material as you normally see in 3/8 or 1/2 inch plywood of "typical" quality. Just based on what I remember about that wood, I wouldn't consider using anything but marine-grade plywood for boat building. It is waaaaay better than regular exterior grade. At least it seems that way to me, so consider the source.

the non visible
difference is the glue. They use non marine grade plywood on the docks where I winter store my sailboat and the crap just falls apart.

Glue
Marine grade plywood uses waterproof glue to bind the layers. Normal plywood does not.

Plywood is graded, (I forget the scale, but the better the grade the smaller and fewer voids. The higher gradss will have no voids.) I have not seen marine plywood with any voids which means I have only seen higher grade marine plywood.