Difference in kayak paddles?

Hey everybody!

I’m new to the sport of kayaking. Just bought my first one (recreational) at the end of last summer. Lately when I go paddling, my wrists will sometimes get sore along with my hands. I know I can easily buy a pair of gloves for the hands, but I was wondering does paddle quality really make a difference regarding wrist strain and stroke effectiveness? Let the advice roll!

Grip
Part of it is conditioning, which will take place with continued paddling. More importantly, loosen that grip!

A tight grip on the paddle for any length of time will greatly increase the strain on your hands and wrists which will also work into your arms and shoulders.

Yes it does
A paddle that’s too long, with baldes that are too big, or that’s too heavy will make paddling less comfortable. Some blade shapes flutter more than others, which may make one grip harder.

The best way to see for yourself is to try different paddles – borrow, swap with other paddlers, try them at demo days or at dealers.

Gripping too hard and poor paddling technique are common causes of wrist soreness.

Also weight

– Last Updated: May-01-06 12:20 AM EST –

I mean weight by itself. Lighter weight paddles, whether bent or straight shaft, will tend to be easier on your hands. Better yet if they have no flutter. But good paddling technique is still needed to avoid undue wear and tear over time.

The really high end ones can easily run over $300, so you want to try a few out. Your best bet will be to find a club and ask to borrow other peoples' paddles that you think might be nice. It is usually real difficult to demo paddles.

Related topic