difficulty choosing new kayak

Hello all, I am a total beginner and am trying to decide on my first kayak. I am 6’3" and currently weigh 215lbs. (going down!). I have a 34inch inseam.

My intended uses would be rivers (not whitewater), lakes and possibly shore use. I do not want to trailer it, preferring to put on top of my Subaru Forrester. Given these criteria, I have narrowed the search down to the Feelfree Nomad and the Cobra Navigator. Price seems to be withing $100. I would love input from anyone with experience with these models, thanks!

Choosing between 2 SOTs
I’d suggest that you post your inquiry at the SOT website Topkayaker.net where you may find more folks with some familiarity and or experience with the two boats you’ve mentioned.

Personally, I’ve been SOT kayaking for about 4 years and have no familiarity with the Feel Free Nomad other than seeing the everpresent adds on Ebay. On the other hand I’ve briefly paddled a Cobra Navigator. I wasn’t too impressed but that’s probably just my personal preferences/predudices working. I’m primarily a salt water paddle and tend to prefer a SOT that is longer and skinnier than what is typically made and marketed. (BTW for reference I’m 6’1", 190, 33" inseam)

Before you make up your mind take a look at the SeaDarts by Heritage, the Tarpons by Wilderness Systems, and the Scupper Pros and Prowlers by Ocean Kayak.

If possible try before you buy after all YOU have to feel comfortable with your choice.

Dagger Charleston 14
If you can find a Dagger Charleston 14 or 15 used or leftover from last year this sit in will do it all and you will fit effortlessly. Impala Bob

Rent First
Whenever possible rent to buy.

I hope you’re right about the