Displacement vs. Planing Style Hulls????

I am new to WW kayaking and I have seen this terminology but I am not sure about the difference between displacement and planing hulls…I guess I can gather a bit from the terminology but I would like more information if anyone can help.

I gather that older boats are generally displacement style and newer ones are generally planing hulls. Is this pretty much the rule?

Are planing hulls just for play boats?

What are the advantages/disadvantages of both?

If my assumption about hull design is correct and the planing hulls are now pretty much the norm for modern boats, then when did this transition occur?

thanks

Matt

Look at this previous discussion
http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=214954

Displacement hulls are more round in shape and planing hulls are flat. They both displace water but in faster water (like a wave) a planing hull will actually plane. Displacement hulls have almost disappeared from the WW boat market. Current designs almost all have a planing hull of some kind but are very different in other ways. There are excellent river running boats available that have a planing hull. G2d will tell you that longer displacement hull boats are better if you want to go that way. I agree. Most of the skilled paddlers I know who still paddle displacement hulls have longer boats.

Planing characteristics have existed on
selected displacement hulls for a long time. Slalom boats, and “old school” boats which work well on slalom courses, usually have a tubular bow which broadens quickly to a flattish area under the paddler, and extends toward the stern. There should be a moderate amount of rocker under the paddler. These boats actually plane on a fast wave, and their partial planing ability, plus their length, make them easy to drive upstream in “attainments.”