DIY Rescue throw rope?

Hi all, this is my first posting here. I’ve searched for this topic, but couldn’t find any prior discussion. I’m somewhat new to sea kayaking and I’m in the process of getting all my gear together for some longer trips. And I’m trying to cut costs where possible.

Has anyone made their own throw rope package? Any advice or suggestions on what type of rope to use or what bags work best?

Thanks and I look forward to using this message board more often as I continue to learn more about this great sport!

-Brian

I bought one
Before I figured out it was really a whitewater thing.

Unless you’ll be paddling in rough water near cliffs and rock gardens you don’t need one. They are for rescuing swimmers from a place it’s not safe to paddle too.

If that ain’t you, scratch it off the gear list

second the not being needed side
Throw ropes are for white water. Tow ropes are for sea kayaking.

throw ropes
Once you use one a few times, you will always bring one. things happen out there.

Kayaks Take Two Hands
Use your boat to rescue someone.

Throw ropes are for floaters in current. Even then they should be used with caution. If someone is wearing a PFD they are probably better off swimming.

yeah at first glance “throw bags” seem
pretty pricey for what you get- some rope in a bag but you could make the same argument for a pfd- foam and fabric. I’m in a ww environment about 80% of the time so i consider both an essential piece of equipment. I have also found a throw rope has multiple uses for canoe tripping (clothes line, ridge line for a tarp). If you try making your own- remember you don’t want it fail when you really need it- more than likely a river or creek scenario. Use rope that floats, double or triple stitch the bag, the closure on top is pretty important- you don’t want the rope to play out until you really need it. Highly suggest a river rescue class- stabilization lines, tag lines, boat extraction is usually covered. Good to know the uses.