Do I need a paddle float?

What purpose does it serve other than the obvious? Are you supposed to leave it on the whole time? What’s the deal?

I need a rootbeer float. It’s 98’F today

paddle float
Don’t know if your post was in jest or not as I am fairly new to the forums and do not know the names of everyone. Also you do not have a profile posted.

I just started practicing re-entries with paddle floats this week.

Paddle floats come in two forms. The most common in warmer waters is probably the kind you blow up and from what I understand, in colder waters, the foam kind is more prevalent. The obvious advantage to the foam ones is that you can deploy it quicker, getting yourself out of the cold water faster but I think the blow up one gives a bit more flotation.

Do a google search for paddle float rescues for more in depth reading.

One of the things that I have found is that it is easier for me to attach the float and then re-enter the boat upside down and use the float to roll up. I can lunge onto the back deck fine and get in but figure whats the sense if I can do it this way without much effort.

Is a paddle float necessary? you betcha! paddle float rescue, paddle float roll, and you can use it as an outrigger for stability while you pump out your boat.

(I understand they make great pillows for camping too. :slight_smile: )

If you have to ask . . .
If you have to ask if you need one, then the short answer is, . . yes you do.

Other purposes (other than as a reentry tool) :

emergency stability for too-sick-to-paddle tow-bait

training aid for developing your hip-snap

emergency floatation bag (for use after you hole your boat and before you learn to carry repair materials)

dunnage for your (soon to be unable to live without) day hatch

air-splint for broken bones

emergency cooler for beer

sleeping pillow / seat / cushion / leg support

emergency pad for your boat during travel

emergency back support / cushion

training aid for developing your hand roll