Do I need flotation devices for flat water?

Here’s a silly question: Do I need flotation bags for all kayak types/waters ?

I’m a beginner and I’m thinking about buying a recreation kayak to use in a calm lake, but I found what I believe to be a good offer for a whitewater kayak ($200 for a Piranha Inazone 230) .

The question is, do I need to worry about flotation bags if I’ll only use the whitewater kayak in a lake?

You’ll look and feel like a water beetle going nowhere. What you need is a life jacket.

Short answer … Yes

You may be more likely to have an OBE (Out of Boat Experience) in a white water kayak on flat than you might expect.

String’s comment alludes to the fact that you will get an excellent education on how to make a turny boat go more or less straight with the Inazone. Not entirely a bad thing as long as you don’t get too frustrated. It’s good to know how to make a turny boat go straight and a straight tracking boat turn.

What these guys are saying is that a whitewater boat is designed for ease of turning so it can avoid obstacles (rocks) in a river… On a flat lake it won’t track - go in a straight line - very well at all. I’d suggest that you look for a recreational design.

And, any kayak without flotation of some sort, whether that be sealed compartments, or air filled flotation bags, will sink if you tip it, and at some point you probably will. Then everything depends on how deep the water is!

A properly fitting life jacket/PFD is mandatory.

The answer is no. The Inazone has central foam pillars fore and aft which will provide positive buoyancy so it won’t sink.