Do I really need that thwart?

Spring is almost here and I am just now starting my winter project boat.

I got a RX Penobscot with vinyl gunwales. It has three seats and two thwarts. I am removing the center seat and adding a yoke (I ended up getting a shadow yoke from slipstream yokes). I think I am also going to remove one or both of the thwarts.

The two seats and yoke should stiffen the canoe up enough. The only reason I could see leave a thwart in would be to hold onto while portaging. Then I might install the yoke backwards and leave the rear thwart in.

Opinions? Will it make it not stiff enough?

if you get swamped
and pinned, then you’ll find out. Not offering any advice, you’ll get plenty I’m sure. I would say it depends on what water you’re paddling, lakes vs. cl.3 granite strewn rivers. I’d bet your seats have drops, which isn’t as strong as a straight thwart.

On the other hand, a few guys I pole with who have specialty poling boats have no seats and 2 thwarts. They do have 10’ of airbags though to keep the canoe high if it swamps. Couple times I’ve been glad for the 4 thwarts in my OC-1 and the 2 seats, 2 thwarts plus portage thwart in my poler. I note a lot more flex at the seats and kneeling thwart due to the drops.

Which size?
The Penobscott 16 is standard with one thwart and yoke while the 17 is standard with two thwarts and a yoke. The thwarts do help a bunch for stiffness in rough conditions. Bell always uses a thwart immediately behind the bow seat because the seat on drops do not supply enough lateral stiffness for the hull.

Seats don’t offer much “thwarting”

– Last Updated: Feb-25-09 9:03 PM EST –