Dogs and kayaking!

I am looking to start kayaking and eventually want to take my dogs. I have 3 dogs ranging from 30-60 ish pounds. Any recommendations for either a kayak or canoe?

Great decision! Paddling’s a wonderfully awesome experience. You said you want to “start,” so I’m guessing you have little (or no) experience paddling a kayak or canoe. If that’s the case, I think your best bet is to take a lesson. Hopefully there’s an outfitter in your area who can help not only to get you started safely, but to suggest the best type of boat for where you want to paddle.

Yep, you nailed it im a total rookie. I’ve left a few messages to my local outfitters. Just putting a few more lines out there for other options,

Then you’re way ahead of the game since you’ve put the horse in front of the cart. Good for you!
I did the opposite :expressionless: But was steered in the right direction here.

Look for a used Klepper Aerius double. They fold up, very durable, stable and roomy for you and the dogs. The downside is they are heavy and slow. http://www.ktva.com/living-alaska-teaching-your-dog-to-enjoy-or-tolerate-water-sports-319/

Remember that dogs like security.
And a cold, wet, slippery deck or bottom makes them nervous and they try to move around to find a better place and that rolls your boat.
I slide a cut piece of blue-foam camping pad under my deck bungie so my Min-Pin can stand on deck safely.
In my canoe, I lay thick foam pads to keep his feet dry and secure and that means he sits in one place to enjoy the paddle.

If you are taking three dogs, I think you can rule out a kayak. Most solo canoes might not feel stable enough for a novice with dogs in the boat. I suggest you go with a tandem canoe that paddles nicely solo. Something like a Nova Craft Bob Special or PAL, Wenonah Solo Plus, Bell Northstar, Mad River Malecite, etc.