Double bladed paddle for OT Pack

Hi, newbie here needing advice on a double-bladed paddle to use with my Pack canoe. I don’t want to spend a ton of money, but don’t need cheap either. I will be fishing, bird watching and sight-seeing on small lakes. I will have my seat lowered a little (not sure exactly how much) and I’m 5’9" 180 lbs. I have a long reach, but I’m not a chimpanzee or anything.

So far, I like the style and price of the Carlisle Next for the double blade paddle. What do you folks think?Any advice on that or another paddle? For size I was thinking 260 cm, but I’m really not sure. Thanks for the help!

length
260 is awfully long. What’s the beam of the canoe?

I use I think a 240 on my Argosy and it’s ok.

Bill H.

The Pack has a 32" beam.

you like the style of the Next?
Are you a powerful paddler with a high angle stroke?

That is one heavy paddle. Its got a fair amount of blade area and increased blade area could be too much on your joints for now until you get some training in.

I suspect you do need a Euro style blade as the OT Pack seat is quite a bit above the water. If you have a high angle stroke you can go shorter than a 260. If you have a low angle stroke you probably need a 260. And long paddles that have a lot of weight in the blade are more tiring.

I have been using a Wind Swift for 25 years now… A low angle fairly light paddle.

A paddle is NOT the place to economize. Buy the best you can. Its your immediate contact with the water and you.

I paddle the Pack Angler version