Down River Kayak Advice

Need some advice regarding learning to handle my recently purchased Seda Spirit Downriver kayak. But first some background…

I’ve been paddling mostly sea kayaks for about 12 years. Currently I have a WS Tempest 165 and I love this kayak. Very stable, easy to maneuver, tracks well with or without skeg, holds an edge with ease, has the most comfortable seating that fits me like a glove and it is very very forgiving of paddling mistakes. It is this last point that got me looking for something a little more challenging to advance my paddling skills and fitness.

Well, I definitely found “challenging” with the Seda Spirit. It is all the things that the WS Tempest is not. It is very tippy, very little primary stability and almost zero secondary, it does not track well (if there is even a slight breeze it wants to go in circles), responds to a slight edge but with zero secondary stability, edging is a huge challenge as the boat will flip in a flash. Whereas I have only practiced bracing in my Tempest, never even coming close to actually needing to brace to avoid a capsize, the Spirit is teaching me how important bracing can be. Even forward strokes executed with less than perfect form can get this boat starting to flop from side to side. So, this boat will definitely do what I wanted it to do, spotlight my weaknesses and force me to improve.