drinking the mississippi

There was a topic on potable water recently but I wanted to address the Mississippi specifically. A buddy and I are doing the 320 miles from Caruthersville MO to the Greenville bridge and just wondered about drinking the water even if treated,filtered, boiled, whatever. Would you drink from that section of the mississippi or try and carry as much as you could and refill along the way?

Water
It would probably be too muddy. Not to mention all the chemicals in that river due to the boat traffic along with many other things, would be too much to get out of the water. I would suggest trying to plan your trip to stop at public parks where there would be access to clean water.

carry
dont think filtered water removes dioxin and chemical fertilizers

I am no expert but…

– Last Updated: Mar-22-10 10:44 PM EST –

I would not drink the mighty Mississippi.

http://www.grist.org/article/mississippi3/

Looks like those who do, filter it more than you can.

When soil runs off the land, it also sends phosphorus and nitrogen fertilizer into ditches and streams; 6 billion pounds end up in the Mississippi and its tributaries each year. In rivers and reservoirs, these nutrients encourage the growth of algae. When algae die, bacteria feast on them, and they also consume oxygen in the water. The biotic riot sluices down to the Gulf of Mexico, where it has created an oxygen-free "dead zone" that supports no marine life. In the summer of 2007, the zone expanded from 6,000 square miles to 7,500, an area nearly the size of New Jersey.