dry bags for cameras

Hello everyone, I am new to the site and I have a question, I hope this hasn’t been covered a thousand times.

I recently purchased a personal pontoon boat that I will use to drift small streamer and small/medium sized rivers. I am a photographer and I am hoping to bring my Nikon digital SLR onboard with me. I am looking for a dry bag that will keep it dry should it happen to get wet but most bags that I see say they are not intended for eletronics. If the bag would “float” if dropped in the water, that would be perfect. I’m a little concerned about dropping a $1000 camera into the drink but I write/photograph for a magazine and I have to get the shots. Wading is easier and I have done that all my life, the pontoon is going to help me cover a bit more water.

Thanks for any help you guys can give me.

Dry boxes…
are my choice for that. Easier to open in the boat, afford shock protection, as well. Pelican, Otter and others are tried and true by most folks on the board. Can’t beat a UW housing for quick shots, but that’ll set you back at least a G for the Nikon. Way nicer, though.

Look everybody!!! I’m posting again after a self-imposed exile from the board!!

While not a pro…
I recently upgraded to a decent digital and boughta Pelican Case for storage whether in the canoe or not.

These cases are very rugged, shock proof and waterproof. Due to their relative volumes not all may float. I don’t remember reading on the PC site that they claim this. Problem solved by lashing into your water craft.

The only drawback might be quick access but that will be the case with any watertight storage.

Highly recommend the Pelican Cases. Remarkable quality and if you look around there are good prices to be had.

Hope this helps.

Wes

Pelicans are great
with one caveat: The pluck-out foam filling can absorb water and grit. I have taken it out of mine and glued in 1/4" minicell for padding. I use small pieces of minicell for padding, cut to size.

Jim