Dry suit hood

First… I am new to dry suits… I picked up a used Sweet Protection Intergalactic dry suit and plan to do some winter paddling and rolling. So far, I have used it in 50 to 60 degree temps, and absolutely love it! With the warmer temps, I have had no need for a hood. Trying to plan for winter, as its sneaking up fast, what is the best hood I can get to use with it?

Would the Pinnacle 7mm Dry Suit Hood work okay with this? Seems like it would? Since I’ve never worn a hood, I’m not sure what I should really be looking for…

leisurepro.com/p-pinhd7ml/pinnacle-7mm-dry-suit-hood-medium-large?gclid=CjwKCAjwxOvsBRAjEiwAuY7L8nJrndibGMMuHlPQGbvnaBH7RlaM48PDaQ5eD-xT_GWYPjvnjvEItBoCLlAQAvD_BwE

Second… It IS common to wear a hood with a suit like this, isn’t it? I sent an email to Sweet Protection asking for recommendations on a hood, and their answer made me wonder…

Thanks,
Charlie

If it is cold enough to need a dry suit, air or water, it is cold enough to justify a hood. Especially if you end up in the water, you can lose a huge percentage of body heat from your head.

That said, a 7mm hood like the diving one you show is usually too warm for paddling. Great for practicing rolls etc in 45 degree water, I have a couple of such hoods from my younger and colder water days.

For most of my paddling, I use a thinner one like this from NRS or Kokatat. In chillier stuff I just put it around my neck before I launch, not up, so I can just pull it over my head without having to fuss with anything if weather breaks down.

NRS has a somewhat thicker and fancier one than I use, but it looks like a nice hood. It is 2.5mm which is about as thick as most paddlers would find comfortable to wear over the duration of a paddle.
https://www.leisurepro.com/p-pinhd7ml/pinnacle-7mm-dry-suit-hood-medium-large?gclid=CjwKCAjwxOvsBRAjEiwAuY7L8nJrndibGMMuHlPQGbvnaBH7RlaM48PDaQ5eD-xT_GWYPjvnjvEItBoCLlAQAvD_BwE

What about in 32 to 35 degree water?