Dry suit question

I am new to kayaking,but have spent a lot of time in the great outdoors.I live in the San Francisco bay area. I use Mountian Surf’s brand of fuzzy rubber now and like it alot. I do not think it is enough (insualtion) for the open bay or ocean.I have looked at dry suits,but do not have the money for some of them. Do any of you know of a dry suit that will not cost me an arm and a leg?

Don’t See Too Many Dry Suits in NORCAL

– Last Updated: Apr-08-04 8:34 PM EST –

I really haven't known anyone who uses a dry suit in Northern California south of San Franisco. I am sure some do.

Most surfers just use a wetsuit, and they are in the water a lot more than kayakers...Check out the guys surfing Ocean Beach in San Franisco.

A full 3mm wetsuit or 3mm farmer john with fleece top is the most common wear I see in/on the ocean.

The ocean water temps range from low to high 50's. Personally I am comfortable for hours in a farmer john and top in water temps in the mid 50's. But I have gotten chilled when I spent 15-20 in the water in February. It think it was very low 50's then.

I use an Immersion Research
Competition dry top and either drypants or a Farmer John. I use fleece onderneath the top and pants. Although it is not totally dry, it keeps me warm enough to stay in 35-40 deg water for 15 minutes or longer. Cost me about $250 for the top and pants and 75 for the farmer john.

I an not into neoprene
I over heat in neoprene ,but want to be safe in 50 degree water.Is there any way to use my fuzzy rubber( Is said to work like 2.5 neoprene) with something else?

You can use fuzzy rubber
under dry gear. I get into the water before and during paddles this time of year when the air is warm, 70+ deg and the water cold, 40-45deg. That prevents overheating and keeps me comfortable and safe. I was in Santa Cruz last month and was overheating in the drytop, despite rolls. The water was warm enough to just wear fleece during rolls. You want to be able to layer.