Dry Top Help

Hey all,

I’m looking at three dry tops and I wanted some help picking one. I’m looking at the Palm Switch, the Kokatat Tropos, or the Kokatat Rogue. I’m brand new to whitewater paddling and I want something that’s going to be good enough to learn in/swim in, but also going to last me for a while. I’m out in Oregon so the water’s cold but I don’t really want to invest in a full dry suit. The other catch is money, as in I’m somewhat short of it. The Switch and Tropos are close enough to the same price that it doesn’t matter but the Rogue is almost double what they cost. I know the Rogue is really highly rated on the forums, but is it really worth it (and why)? If not, then what would people recommend between the other two?

Thanks.

Tropos Material
I have a couple of tops of this material, and a dry suit. It ain’t bad, but it isn’t as long term rugged as some of the ones that come with a stiffer guarantee. How it’ll last for you… anyone’s guess.

Gore-tex
Gore-tex is going to be a lot more comfortable and durable in the long run than Tropos material. It just comes down to how much capital you can invest up front - a Gore-tex top will still be good after the Tropos has fallen apart. It breathes better too. Don’t know about the Palm stuff.

Dry tops

– Last Updated: May-27-10 3:29 PM EST –

I have had a Gore-Tex Kokatat dry top for many years and it has served me very well. It's been intimate with many rocky rapids and never ripped.

Any dry top or dry suit with latex gaskets will need to have the gaskets replaced periodically. It depends on use, obviously. Some people only get a year, some 5 years. You can buy replacement gaskets and do the job yourself, or send the suit back to Kokatat and they will do it for a fee.