Dry top versus splash top, etc.

I am new to whitewater kayaking. I have all the basic gear, but in order to extend my paddling season I was looking to get a good dry top. I am a little confused by some companies using the terms dry top, splash top, semi dry top, and others. I will mostly be river running, not a lot of playboating. What is the difference in these different tops and what do I really need?

in my view a splash top has
little benefit after a few rolls where as a dry top is designed to consistently keep water out of your cockpit and away from you after rolling. To confuse it more, depending on your weather and boating conditions you may wish to consider a dry suit.

You mention a relationship between not being a play boater and whitewater yaking. Yea play boaters are wet lots but you can be sure that as a whitewater boater you are going to be spending plenty of time up side down just the same. Being dry and warm is good in bad weather conditions. See ya downstream.

Dry top/dry suit
Dry means dry, anything else isn’t. As above you need either a wetsuit or sufficient drywear to keep you warm when you swim in WW. You will capsize, you will roll or not hence swim. It’s not likely you have a reliable roll if you are just starting out.

Drysuit can’t leak at the waist but can cost a lot. When the water hits 50 degrees many people go to a drysuit. If you do find a wetsuit will do, a top that does not have a guaranteed dry neck gasket works for many over the wetsuit. (Wetsuit alone is not enough, needs a windblock layer once wet.)

To further complicate matters, there are two piece drywear systems and the one piece (drysuit). If you have a reliable roll the two piece systems may be fine, because there’s likely to be very little leakage at the waist from a roll or two compared to a swim. That’s where most of the drytop/ dry pants outfits are vulnerable.