Dry Tops?

I went to Mountain Gear today to see about dry tops. The two I liked are the NRS Revolution and the Flux. The Revolution is made from a much heavier material than the Flux which may be a bit over kill. On the hand it should be warmer than the Flux. So if I start paddling at the end of March which is still going to be pretty cold. What would be the better way to go? Get a thinner dry top and dress in layers under it for warmth or get the heavier one and wear fewer layers? The thinner one would be more comfortable later into the year making it more versatile correct? I am new to this so I need some advice. Thanks!

I think you got it backwards
The Revolution is made from eVent - which is very breathable and ‘supple’ as the website says. The Flux is made of Triton, which is thicker and less breathable.

***Either way dry tops by themselves offer very little in the way of insulation (once in the water they offer almost zero insulation by themselves). Dry tops are a waterproof (hopefully) barrier to keep the insulation underneath them dry and full of air (rather than water). Beathability allows moisture to escape but not enter - ideally this keeps your insulation layers from becoming damp and less effective.

NRS is claiming eVent is better in all conditions - including warmer weather. This is mainly because of it breathability (eVent is far more breathable than any other waterproof/beathable fabrics.)

If you get the Revolution dry top you will be the envy of all your gearhead friends. Others will warn you that it is a first generation drytop and that you should wait to see how it does after its first year of use. However, eVent has been used in the outdoor industry for a few years and has been very impressive.

To sum up -

eVent will be the better jacket for ‘all year’ use (just as good in winter, better in summer).

The jacket itself doesn’t do squat to keep you warm so layer up appropriately underneath.

Coverage

– Last Updated: Feb-28-08 7:53 AM EST –