Drysuits and Wetsuits

I am planning on getting a drysuit since the water in NY stays cold for a long time. Just curious if most people that have drysuits still use wetsuits in warmer water? Am I going to want a wetsuit in addition to a drysuit for when the water is just slightly chillier than comfortable? Or once you have a good drysuit do you stop using a wetsuit?

I favor the drysuit mostly
but also own and use a polartec aquashell wetsuit (velour finish) and drytop. If you invest in a high quality breathable drysuit you will rarely use a wetsuit, but it is hard to wear that drysuit wne the air temp is 90 and the water is 60. The polartec wetsuit is close to as effective as 3mm neoprene and you can make one for yourself.

I’m still learning, too, but…
it seems that the more tools you have in your toolbox, the better. I started with just a short Farmer John, but now have a full length one, a dry top, a full dry suit, and a tuiliq. Learning what combination to use with different air temps, water temps, and the amount of exertion is an on-going process.

Have fun!

Joe

Immersion Gear
I have two drysuits, assorted drytops, FJs of varying thickness and 2 surfing wetsuits. I only use drysuit in the coldest months. I probably use my FJ and drytop and surfing wetsuits more. The FJ/drytop combo is used in white water, longboating and surf kayaking. Surfing wetsuit is my preference for waveskiing.

sing

mostly dry suit

– Last Updated: Apr-04-06 2:11 PM EST –

I have three wet suits, all purchased before I got my dry suit. I find I wear the dry suit (Kokatat Gore-Tex Expedition)or semi-dry suit (Super-Nova) until the water temps exceed 60 degrees. Since getting my dry suit, I've worn my wet suits very little. I'm thinking of keeping one of my wet suits (a Farmer John shorty) and selling off the others.

Don’t use wetsuits anymore