dumb question on skeg/ rudder

probably a dumb question but what is the difference between a skeg and a rudder. How do you control them. Which one works best for you. Why do you like one over the other.

I am new to the world of kayaking and want to learn all I can before I buy.

Not so dumb question
Along with what kind of roll do you prefer this is probably one of the most hotly contested topics of sea kayaking. Skeg vs. Rudder vs. Niether (Usually phrased “We don’t need no stinking rudders”…) In brief; a skeg is some form of fin that drops from the aft of the kayak to add lateral stability in windy or wavy conditions. This is fixed in place by a single pivot point allowing raising and lowering. A rudder lowers from the stern of the kayak and has a side to side pivot to boot. This is controlled by cables that attach to some form of sliding or pivoting footpeg. Where you point your toe is where you go sort of theory. Both devices are designed to give the same end effect, keep you pointing in the direction you intend to go. Note: not for close in manuvering, your paddle works better for that. I have both gadgets in the kayaks in my school and they probably get used about 5% of the time. Do you need one? Depends on what your experience is, the terrain you intend to paddle, the type of paddler personality you are, etc. Try all three in various conditions and take instruction in edging and more advanced paddle techniques like slips, stern rudders & draws and bow rudders, then make your decision. Some manufacturers like Prijon sell thier kayaks with all the mounting harware in place and if you choose to add a rudder later the kit takes about an hour to install.

See you on the water,

Marshall

http://www.the-river-connection.com

skegs & rudders