dumb question-when to kayak

This might be the dumbest question.

do you kayak in summer[which is very hot] or in winter[where the water is cold-not freezing].

i am new here.learning the ropes.

thanks.

michael

Yes
It all depends on what your skills are, what clothing you have for cold weather etc.

Your post doesn’t indicate anything about where you are starting from and there is no profile to help with an open-ended question like this.

It depends on the person
and where you live. Some people paddle year round. Others don’t like cold weather. And then cold in Seattle is not the same as cold in Michigan. When I lived in the Midwest, lakes were frozen until spring.

Where do you live…
…and what are your kayaking goals?

more details
ok.i am sorry.

i am currently in oman on a project.

summer is very hot-113 degrees

winter is cold-59 degrees

im interested in recreational kayaking.

i dont have any special clothes…

as i said im new at kayaking and wanted to know in general when is kayaking more popular.winters or summer.

Kayak when…

– Last Updated: Mar-02-12 1:53 PM EST –

...there is liquid water!

No mater what the air temp is, sensible clothing will solve the problem.

I'm damned right now - sun is shining, air is +4 C but everything around Baltic is encased in goddamn ICE! and will take at least 10 days before I see any changes in ice cover! :( :( :(

Now off the shoe box and back to the topic. I prefer kayaking in cold-ish weather actually. Maybe not quite freezing, but between +5 and +15 C air and about +12 C water with a bit of cold wind is the best. Gives you plenty of challenge, you don't get too hot, yet your boat does not ice over :). Over +25 C I get really uncomfortable.

My favorite seasons are early spring and late autumn.

Lord if our water ever got up to 59
that would be nice. That’s a good summertime temp. Winter…like today in the 20’s.