Dumb Weight Capacity Question.

-- Last Updated: Sep-12-08 4:38 AM EST --

Hi everyone.

I'm a total newbie to all of this, but I'm interested in getting a kayak all set and done with.

My question involves the weight capacity of a boat.

I weigh, with the paddle that I have purchased and my life vest, about 241 lbs. Yes...the paddle is light weight...yes, the vest is light weight...yes, I weigh about 237 or so without them...so yes, I'm fat!!!

Anyways, my question about the capacity of boats is this:

If the capacity of the boat is listed as being MORE than my weight, will I have any kind of trouble using it?? Like, if the boat's capacity is listed as 300 lbs, will I have trouble with the boat due to the fact that I'm on the upper end of the scale??

Or do the capacity ratings mean that you can put that much weight into them and still have them function as they are supposed to??

Thanks!!!
Jeff

your last point
What you said…

“Or do the capacity ratings mean that you can put that much weight into them and still have them function as they are supposed to”

…is my take on this.

So long as you are under the weight limit, you should be fine.

If you are way under the weight limit, you may have issues of the boat not responding correctly (can’t lean the boat, boat is over affected by wind, etc.). Actually, some boats do better with loads closer to their limits. The way to correct this is to add some weight inside the boat (carry more gear).

I think you’ll be fine…
with a boat in that range if you don’t overload it with a lot of gear.

A kayak actually needs the weight in it to perform properly. It is designed to displace a certain amount of water in order for the hull shape to interact with the water the way it was meant to.

At 241 w/ a 300 lb capacity you are using 80% of the boats capacity. (241/300 = .803333 = 80%) You said that is you, your paddle, and a PFD. However, there is safety gear to consider - also snacks, water, etc…