Easy Rider Pro 327 Kevlar Canoe

I’m just getting into the world of canoes and recently picked up an 18.5’ Easy Rider Raven to use for family camping trips. I was looking for a smaller canoe to use on our local lake for solo trips and happened up a free Easy Rider Pro 327 Kevlar Canoe. It was listed as a curbside pickup and I raced over there to pick it up thinking no matter what the condition, I could atleast give it a go. Lo and behold, I was the first one there and I brought it home.

I talked to the guy who was giving it away and it turns out it was a racing canoe and was used in a few local races here in WA. He did say that it’s been always stored outside and is not sure what effects the UV rays would have had on the kevlar. There are at least two small punctures in the kevlar that need patching, but otherwise it looks to be in good structural shape.

Does anyone know if a Kevlar canoe that’s been stored outside for 10+ years is structurally questionable (i.e. should I be concerned about using it and having the hull crack catastrophically while out on the water). I want to put a little elbow grease into it and make it nice again, but not sure if it’s a lost cause. Also, any advice on patching the small punctures are appreciated, I don’t know what I’m doing.

FWIW, I took it out with a friend and it is fast! unfortunately it needs to be paddled with two people, one person sitting in the back raises the front end up out of the water like a speedboat.

The kevlar is fine. unless you can push your finger through it with miderate force, its probably fine. Generally in a Pro boat you’re not far offshore or in the wilderness either (I would recommend against both in a 3x27 pro boat)

I paddled many 3x27 pro boats for a few years (Crozier, Savage River, Wenonah, and others). a tandem pro boat absolutely cannot be paddled solo.

Also they are horrible ‘family’ canoes. They’re low, fast, and tippy. Very little margin for absent minded leaning before flipping.