easy to go off course?

I know this is a total newbie questions, but…

How easy is it to venture off course on a river?

I’m going to be doing the Yukon River in late May. I can read a map and GPS and all, but I would think that just by following the current of the river, one shouldn’t really be getting lost, especially since all rivers flow into the Yukon.

yukon …
Hi …i just used GoogleEarth to check out the yukon …my guesstimate would be " yes " you could get “lost” on the Yukon, depending on the sections you are going to navigate, due to the many oxbows,side channels, etc, etc. By lost i mean going down a channel maybe, that you really shouldn’t go down (rapids),or vice versa…maybe you need to take a side channel that is a safer route around fast water/rapids. by just following the current it may take you into harms way before you have time to react. I was using the Yukon from the mouth upstream quite a ways on GoogleEarth to look at it.

Yukon canoe and club
website at:

http://www.kayak.yk.ca/html/yckc/

they might be of some assistance.

Don’t know about the Yukon
Most rivers I’ve paddled are pretty hard to get lost on.

But a few have places where there are many channels not all of which go anywhere. In some of those the current starts out strong but eventualy disipates as the water drains through marsh and/or micro channels. I have had to paddle back upstream to find a channel that goes through.

pretty much the same thought …
… don’t know about Yukon either , but sometimes you are faced with a split around and island (or what apears to be) . These splits can look like the same size flow to either side , or sometimes one side appears to be the main flow but narrows down into tight or even choked off passage (would require portaging to continue on to see if it will open up again or not) .

So off course , yeah I think that’s a possibility … but not lost .

Was hitching years ago