Eddyline Rio questions

I have been paddling for almost 20 years, and used to frequent these boards as santacruzmidwife. I started with a Scupper Pro SOT, fell in love with sea kayaking and paddled an Valley Canoe Avocet for many years, mostly out of the harbor in Santa Cruz, Ca. I also have a 19 year old Pungo I’ve used for paddling on lakes, and with my dogs over the years.

Fast forward to 2021- I am retired, living in Arizona, and only paddling lakes and slow moving rivers these days in either my Pungo 120 or an old composite Current Designs Kestrel 140 I picked up used.

I prefer the Pungo to the Kestrel but as an aging kayaker (63) with arthritis, I would like something lighter. I have also experienced the Pungo’s hull being temporarily damaged in the Arizona heat while car topping.

I’m thinking a composite sit inside rec boat might be both lighter for me, and sturdier during travel.

The reviews of Eddyline’s Rio are impressive. As a 5’5” woman weighing 138-143#, it seems to have a lot of features that would make it a good fit for me as this stage in my paddling life.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance and happy paddling!

1 Like

Even if considered a rec kayak, it does have watertight hatches fore and aft - to me that would be important. It’s wide at 24", but not a real chubster like many rec barges. It would be one I’d consider later in life. But I’m only an 80 year old arthritic puny old guy.

I have significant arthritis in my wrist/hands and am looking to stay out on the water as long as possible.

2 Likes

I have rented an Eddyline kayak from their store in Anacortes, WA and paddled it in the salt water. One of my favorite companies.

1 Like

Maybe a Greenland paddle would be easier on your hands and wrists.

They are beautiful! I actually have a lightweight paddle with long skinny blades and paddle unfeathereed wearing a neoprene thing splint, so I am not sure it would make a difference?