Eddyline Skylark vs CD kayak Kestrel 120 R

I am new in kayak and I think I will play in the lake only in Ontario. Could you anyone give me some suggestion regarding the mentioned kayak I consider to buy?
By the way,I am 53 and 5.6ft tall. Thanks!

Unless there is some very limiting factor, I would strongly suggest you add a couple of feet to your quest. I think you would soon tire of paddling a short boat. Of the two you mentioned, the Kestrel might take a bit longer to get bored with.

Thanks! Magooch,do you think I should choose 14feet kayak? There is Eddyline Equinox and CD Kestrel 140,which one you choose if you are going to buy?

Unsure if your intentions are to paddle Lake Ontario or inland lakes in the Province of Ontario. If Lake Ontario, both boats you mention are recreational type kayaks, and really don’t belong on any Great Lake unless always paddled close to shore.

This link explains different types of kayaks and their best use: http://www.paddlesafely.com/kayaks/

Lessons with a qualified instructor would also be helpful in making your choice.

You should try out any boats that you might be interested in. Try out some longer boats, but be very aware they will spoil you for shorter boats.

@Rookie said:
Unsure if your intentions are to paddle Lake Ontario or inland lakes in the Province of Ontario. If Lake Ontario, both boats you mention are recreational type kayaks, and really don’t belong on any Great Lake unless always paddled close to shore.

This link explains different types of kayaks and their best use: http://www.paddlesafely.com/kayaks/

Lessons with a qualified instructor would also be helpful in making your choice.

Thanks very much! The website supply us a lot of useful information. The key point to me is I can not use recreational kayak to the center of Lake Ontario. So I will keep use very basic kayak this summer and buy a touring kayak next year. Thanks again!

@runwell530 said:

@Rookie said: