Eddyline Skylark vs Delta 12.10

I am a newbie looking for some advice on a boat.

I had the chance to paddle a friend’s Skylark and it felt nice, but I was a little disappointed by the lack of a few features, primarily thigh braces and perimeter lines. I also noticed the boat was really difficult to re-enter during self rescue, the back of the boat and cockpit came very close to the waterline. The boat is “good enough”, but I can’t decide if the additional features and/or different design of the Delta is worth it.

I can acquire a Skylark fairly easily from a local dealer, but getting the Delta is a little more challenging, but doable. The downside is, I don’t have the chance to actually sit in or paddle the Delta.

Anyone have experience with both boats and can comment on their differences? Are the differences between the boats significant enough to make it worth going through the difficulty of getting a Delta over the Skylark? How do they perform differently?

Thanks!

how tall are you ?

http://goo.gl/PvlGSz

http://www.google.com/#q=blog+eddy+line+delta+kayak

6ft, 195lbs

Does your dealer have
the Eddyline Rio in stock? Just curious as it’s a step up from the Skylark.

No experience with the Delta, which looks like it has some nice features. But I’d never buy any boat without having a chance to sit in it and paddle it.

I do have a Skylark. Paddled it my first summer of paddling. Had perimeter lines installed. Still use it as a guest boat. Stable and responsive. Paddled it on large inland lakes and Lake Michigan. It was a good introductory boat. I could do re-entries with a paddle float.

Where will you use your kayak? Lakes, rivers?

It sounds like you have the answer

– Last Updated: Jul-23-16 8:54 AM EST –

If safety being able to paddle well out from shore is your first consideration, you already discovered the issues with the Skylark. Add in the fact that you are usually going to capsize in difficult conditions, which would increase the issues you found.