Edisto River - beginning to end. 2021

I’m fairly new to kayaking and wondering if anyone else is interested in a camping adventure down the entire Edisto River. No set schedule or anything, just go with the flow and primitive camp wherever we come across along the way. I don’t mean to sound crazy but if I’m completely honest, despite it being so cold, I’m ready to start asap. Lol I just know thats not too wise to go solo, in the winter with such little experience. I’ve just fell in love with traveling via small boat and have tried a few different methods and landed on a SOT kayak. Maybe even eventually kayak to Florida and explore the various fresh water springs. Maybe I’m just crazy, but maybe someone else is the same kind of crazy and wants to come along…? Crossing fingers. Just asking in case, otherwise I’ll likely wait til warmer weather before I attempt it solo.

Hopefully you have one of the Edisto River guide books. I haven’t paddled the upper end but have read older reports of a lot of deadfall in the way. Being an unrestricted river, conditions constantly change.
As you near the coast , it becomes mostly marsh . Not a place I would care to camp.
Do some scouting and talking to the locals like Heritage Outfitters.
P.S. I have capsized in the Edisto this time of year and had to climb out on a muddy, sandy bank. Not life threatening, but very uncomfortable.
Unless you are an experienced outdoor type, I highly recommend having someone experienced with you.
We are entering the time of year when flood conditions are frequent.
I suggest some practice day trips like Colleton State Park to either Mars Oldfield landing (16 mi,) or to Givhans Ferry SP (21 mi).
For a look at the lower end , try Martin’s Landing to Willtown Bluff.

1 Like