elbow tendonitis

I’ve been paddling for several years, and have just developed some slight burning sensation in my left elbow. My physical therapist said it was tendonitis. Apart from staying off the water a bit, she suggested that I make sure to have good friction between my hand and the paddle shaft so that I would not have to grip the paddle so hard. And indeed, on a short trip last week in quite cold weather, I used wool globes under poggies and, given the lack of friction with wool gloves, felt the discomfort more than usual. She also suggested increasing the diameter of the shaft - again, so there was less need to grip the paddle hard. Note that the discomfort happens when I’m pulling the blade back through the water, not when I’m pushing it forward. One other thing, of course, is to make sure that I’m using my torso rotation as much as possible to take pressure off the arm itself. Apart from those ideas, any others? Note also that for medical reasons, I can’t take ibuprofen.

Thanks for any advice.

help for elbow
My wife has the same problem and a very good therapest in whitehorse told here to wear a narrowband around here forearm and rest, which really helped alot. She said that the band keeps the tendon pulled tight against the bone and keeps it from pulling in just one place. My wife is now pain free and we look forward to many paddling days ahead.

2nd on the elbow band. I keep a
couple around and use it at the first twinge. It prevents the problem. They are caleed tennis elbow bands and you can get them in any sporting goods store.

Serious business