Electric Trolling Motor On a Canoe?

-- Last Updated: May-11-07 7:02 PM EST --

I have owned and used canoes and kayaks for 38 years - now being 60 yrs old! I still paddle often as today I was in my Current Designs kayak for an hour paddle in the salt marsh. Recently my life has included a new friend who has a physical handicap. She loves nature and the outdoors. I have an Old Town Penobscot 16 ft Royalex canoe. Would one of the small Mina-Kota electric trolling motors, attached on a proper bracket, be reasonable and safe on the canoe I have - in flat water of course. I never thought I would even consider a motor on a canoe but on long trips agains the current with only me being able to paddle it is tough on me. Thanks for your thoughts.

It should be fine. Get at least
a 30 lb thrust motor. Gel cell batteries are great, no acid spills.

They work fine.
Old Town’s motor mount is good. We use them on our 17’ Penobscots for research work.

~wetzool

trolling motor
I use the trolling motor on my Mohawk by attaching a motor carrier from Old Town. I have even used a 4hp gas model. The boat does flex some but I control that by controlling my need for speed. An ace chest under the mid throat will help hold things in place. Otherwise I use the power to beat the bass boats :).

Electric motor battery placement?
Wetzool -

With the battery for an electric trolling motor placed in the center of the canoe - does the canoe feel less stable (initial or secondary stability)? My canoe is the 16 ft Penobscot and I am in not hurry on the water so I am looking at the Mini-Kota 30 lb thrust (their smallest electric?) that’s on sale locally for $100. That should be enough motor, right? (two people: me 180 lbs, friend 105 lbs, max of ten pounds of gear, flat water but some river current. Thanks for your help! Bill Williams - Wilmington, NC.

Powerboat registration