Emsco Voyager??

Hi everyone.

I’m a newbie looking into a kayak for the first time. I know it’s about the end of the season here in Michigan, but I’m looking around to see if I can get a good deal on a boat right now.

I was in a local sporting goods store and they had a boat there called a “Voyager” by a company called Emsco.

I have searched on the net but have found absolutely nothing. It would appear that not a single person has ever purchased one of these items.

It’s low price is what attracted me to it the most. I can get one brand new for under $200. And when I was looking at them, my fiance also showed some interest so the low price makes it look even better because I could get two of them.

I’m the type of person that buys something…and if I like it I almost immediately upgrade to a better version of what I’ve purchased.

Does ANYONE have any experience at all with these kayaks??

I am looking for a sit-on-top kayak because I feel that it will suit me better for a starter boat…that, and I will likely be getting off of it at times to swim and snorkel.

If I can’t find anything out at all about these ones, I will probably just end up going with a Pelican Zest…but if anyone knows anything about these at all, I might give it a try.

Thanks!!

Jeff

That is a pool toy unless you want

– Last Updated: Aug-29-08 1:44 PM EST –

to go nowhere slowly. You can get a 12' real kayak like a Pungo for $500 used.

$500…
Is about twice what I’m looking to spend.

I think your budget is unrealistic.

Unrealistic?

– Last Updated: Aug-29-08 5:57 PM EST –

So you believe that it's impossible to find a serviceable first kayak, even used, for under $500??

I find that a bit unrealistic.

What about the Old Town Otter. I've read that's an excellent starter kayak for around $250. Or the Pelican Zest. I've read nothing but good things about that as a starter for around $250.

Get what you can afford.