epic 18x vs simon river sport Lazer

I have been paddling the epic 18x for three years now and has been an enjoyable training kayak.we have a big race in Timmins Ontario every year. and now I see simon river sport Lazer kayak can be modified with bulkhead and storage compartment to meet our rules.does anyone have experience with these two kayaks ,difference in speed over a 10km race

No experience
I have no experience with the Laser but after looking at the pics and specs I’d say it would be faster than the 18x but also much tippier. Pretty much anyone can jump into an 18x. I don’t think that will be the case with the Laser.

I used to paddle a WSBS Thunderbolt and there was a huge gulf in terms of stability between that and the Epic 18x. Much more so than the difference between a standard 24" sea kayak and the 18x. I got to where I felt very comfortable in the boat and then I tried a WSBS Javeline, which the owner said had a stability rating of 5, similar to the Laser you’re looking at.

That was tippier yet and within 100 yards I was in the water. He took my Thunderbolt for a paddle and thought it was extremely stable and said speed between the two felt similar to him.

If you want a boat strictly for training/racing it might fit the bill. I don’t think you’ll be taking it for leisurely paddles though. Not saying it’s not a good boat, I just don’t know what you’re looking for or expecting.

Personally I’d be looking for a ski since the penalty for tipping is much less severe.

Alan

Speed will also depend on your experience level and how much time you’re willing to put in. If you’re not getting out a couple times/week for real training sessions (at least an hour of race pace effort) then it doesn’t matter so much what you’re paddling. There won’t be a very big speed difference. But the nice thing about faster boats is that if you’re willing to put in the time and effort you’ll be rewarded with more speed.