Essential accessories advice for newbies

Good day all. I am a relative novice about to purchase a Gumotex Seawave for recreational use on Irish waters (nothing extreme) and would like whatever advice on the essential additional items I will require. I will be buying the deck and spray skirts. Items I am unsure about include PRVs and manometers, additional/different seats (packraft style seem to be a thing), the optional (expensive) rudder, wetsuit top (it’s chilly here), shoes, pump type, life jacket options, any other bits and bobs that experience brings…. Apologies for the long list! Thanks in advance Ian

What exactly are Irish waters? You mean a lake or a river?

Apologies for not making myself clearer. Will do light coastal (not extreme) and then recreational river and inland water bodies.

But no white water

You’ll never be sure what will happen on a coast. Whole new game. Definitely communication for the coast.

You’ll likely have a hard time in costal winds.

Yup. Will have to be very weather wise here. Change happens quickly. Local weather app is pretty good for very short term predictions.

I have not ever seen a Seawave live, so can only go by the web site data and what I know of other inflatable kayaks. So some of what I say may be off.

Wind is the big enemy of inflatables. They do talk about building a keel into the shape of the kayak to help with wind, but in general it probably will be blown around much more than if you were in a hard shell kayak. Keep in mind a boat made to take between 1 and 3 people will not do well at that entire range of carrying capacity. If you are using as a single kayak, it likely would be even more impacted by wind than if loaded down more.

Inflatables are slower than hard shell. If you are paddling with folks in hard shell kayaks, they likely will go much faster than you.