Evacuating a flooding river campsite

Most of my canoe camping is on mid-stream gravel bars (banks are private). While the river always rises and drops and once flooded our lower kitchen area some, I’ve so far mostly ignored the question about what to do in the case of a nightly flood.

Should the tent be lower than the rest of the gear so you get an “early” warning, or the other way around? Do you rig some other warning system? Although it scares me, I would think a nightly boat launch may be safer than a nightly swim? Ferry to shore and get out? Ditch bag (don’t have one)?

I have never had to do this, and hope I never do, but I have had friends who have had to launch in the dark to escape rising water so I have some second-hand experience. If you are in a group camp and you know the water is rising, or strongly expect it will, it is best to assign watches so someone is always awake and watching the water. Get some sticks and drive them into the gravel vertically at one foot intervals or so from the water’s edge, The sticks will allow a much better indication of the extent and rapidity of the water’s rise. In the event of rather rapidly rising water, it is better to evacuate sooner rather than later.

Obviously, have your boat and any gear secured so it doesn’t float away. Launching into rising water in the dark can be pretty dangerous, as rapidly rising water often brings down debris that you might not be able to see. If I had to launch into rising water in dark conditions, my goal would be to ferry to the closest bank that offers higher ground and get out.

I can think of some southern rivers where the phone number to the power company with the recorded times for dam openings would be an important pre-resource.

Camped on low lying islands, I’ve had a few nervous nights when the tide was rising and wind-driven waves sounded like they were breaking under my tent fly, but so far, haven’t gotten wet.