Expedition plastic or composite?

I am planning a boat to let me trip on Georgian Bay. This is rocky big water and I’m trying to choose. Composite boats are bigger and lighter. (I’m looking at the 19’ Seaward Quest) Plastic boats seem more durable and easier (I’m looking at the Prijon Kodiak.

Anyone suggest a tripping kayak for a big, heavy, heavy guy who likes bringing camping gear?

How tall & weight?

Current Designs Solstice Titan if your big enough.

Rental liveries use plastic… The investment is less and while the life is less it still balances out. I have been using a fiberglass kayak since 1993 in Maine. We have the same sort of rocks as Georgian Bay ( yes we have paddled there some 15 times and also Superior coast some 10 times)

Back in the day we holed a Necky Looksha and could not fix it… Barnacles are not friendly to plastic. FG while it scratches can be filled and fixed.

It seems to me most Maine paddlers who own their own kayaks go composite.

I ask you why you want to buy? White Squall in Parry Sound has rentals and also sales. They are very respected.

I haven’t really priced renting. I love White Squall.

Maybe I’m just too attached to it being ‘my boat’.

I’m 6’ and over 200lbs.

Ignoring specific boat recommendations, one big difference between plastic and composite for expeditions is repearability. Pretty much anyone that does major (as in pretty far out there) expeditions uses composite. Composites can be field repaired, even for major damage.

Plastic is more durable and less likely to fail, but when they do fail they are almost impossible to repair (even at home, let alone in the field).

If you are going to be out there in the wilds away from roads, people, emergency exits, etc., then composite may be a better choice (but bring a repair kit, and know how to use it).

That said, I don’t go that far out in the wilds on my trips (I have done up to 10 days - but rarely all that far from an escape route), so I generally use plastic.