Eyewear

-- Last Updated: Jun-17-05 8:09 PM EST --

Sat in a kayak for the first time last weekend & feel this will become a passion. So as I sign up for courses I have a question that I cannot seem to find an answer to. I wear glasses....contacts are out of the question - is there any special type of attachment made especially for this sport that will keep "my eyes" from floating away. I have been to 3 sports stores and 2 eyewear stores. Any advice?

THANKS EVERYONE - YOU HAVE GIVEN ME PLENTY OF OPTIONS TO EXPLORE.........HAPPY PADDLING!!!

croakies
work for me… keeps things around the neck anyway.

badjer

Eyewear
You might want to check our a product called “RecSpecs”

They are pretty much bulletproof, though a bit on the expensive side.

They stay on if you suddenly crash, and will not fall apart which some have a tendancy to do.

WalMart optical has them. I have been buying glasses at Wally’s for a few years, and have not found a better deal anywhere.

Frank

Croakies are the universal solution-
You might also get the small short bungie that has clips on both ends for your cap. Clips to the rear of your cap and other clip on your collar. That way you keep your cap in wind gust, and if you dump.West Marine has them. There are several other good ideas-Costa Del Sol, I think, has one that floats your glasses. I use one that floats and wrap once around the cap holder. That way I save glasses, if I dump in clapotis. If you have a d-ring on your vest-it might also work as an anchor point.

I use the
croakies terra floater extreme

Corrective sports goggles are also a
solution, though a bit warm and will fog.

Float em!
If you simply use a standard retainer at some point your glasses will be washed off and will head fro the deep six. Croakies, chums and others make retainers that add flotation - make sure to get a model that fits your glasses’ temples snugly.

Jim

Extra Glasses…