Factory Roof Rack Strength

I am new to sport/addiction of kayaking and plan on buying a 14’touring. I have a 2016 toyota sienna mini van with a factory roof rack without crossbars. I plan on buying top name(Yakima/Thule) crossbars and towers to put on factory roof rack. My question is how strong is the factory rack which I am building my system on.

I am planning on traveling with more then one boat and hopefully driving many miles over time.

Do I have better option or is factory all I need as foundation?

For what it is worth:

– Last Updated: Sep-25-16 5:16 AM EST –

I don't trust factory roof racks.
I like my Yakama roof rack towers bolted directly to the vehicle frame.
I purchased my last four vehicles based on the fact that they could be.
Lots of times I carry two long sea kayaks along with a 17 foot canoe

That is me and others may feel different

jack L

Do I have a stronger option?
Thanks JackL. With my van is there a stronger option that you know of?

rack
is rated for? All OEM roof racks have a rating. Compare it to the total weight you want to carry.

rating
https://www.etrailer.com/roof-2016_Toyota_Sienna.htm

rated for 165 I saw on amazon OEM toyota cross bars rated for 150 lb.

Should be fine
I have used factory side rails with Thule crossbars to haul two tandem canoes and they did just fine. That was on a GMC Safari van. However, I would not have trusted the factory crossbars to handle the load.

Have carried on a RAV4 factory rail…
With Thule footpacks and cross bars… two sea kayaks plus the weight of a set of Hullivators on one side. Have seen a couple of not dissimilar cars set up with dual Hullivators, so I assume they often carry two boats.

Carried up to 4 boats on Mercury Sable factory side rails with Yakima towers and round bars, nothing moved. Did replace the towers at times.

One caution, I have found it correct that the round Yakima bars are a lot noisier than the square Thule crossbars.

Yakima Rail Riders