Falling asleep

I just recently began paddling an OC-1 I purchased a couple months back. I’m used to paddling a tandem canoe and sitting most of the time while paddling. However with the OC-1, I’m always kneeling with the Perception saddle that’s installed.

Anyway, after a short period of time, my legs begin to fall asleep, usually from the knees down. Is that because I’m new at kneeling and my body isn’t used to it yet or is it due to poor technique or outfitting? Has anyone else experienced this and does it go away as I get more accustomed to paddling while kneeling?

Things to check. First, that your pants
are not constricting circulation. I kneel very low in my c-1s, and I can’t wear any pants whatsoever without increasing circulation difficulty.

Second, are you kneeling with your feet up on your toes, or are your foot tops flat against the bottom of the boat. The latter is hard to get used to, because at first your ankles don’t want to retroflex that far, but if your foot tops are flat on the bottom of the boat, your knees will not be bent as much.

Third, your anatomy may be such that you have to add some padding to the seat to reduce the amount of knee bend and increase circulation. Some people need a 7", 8", or even a 9" seat height.

Perception saddles…
I bought an old WW boat and put a Perception saddle in it. It is agony for me to paddle it for very long. My knees and ankles both bother me. The saddle has two inch minicell under it but it is still so low to the bottom of the boat that my old joints stiffen up. I need to be able to alter my position occasionally. I have two other solo canoes with cane seats and I can kneel with a pad or sit in them all day and be comfortable.

Pat #2

I have no solution
other than to welcome you into the world of numb-footed C-1 paddlers!

If sized properly, I found that your main and spare paddles can be used as crutches until blood starts flowing again.

Jim

Crawling from the wreckage