Fast Kayak for Flatwater Touring????

I am looking for a good fast, straight tracking and comfortable composite kayak for flatwater.

I have just finished a long search for an ocean touring kayak. I moved to Monterey, CA a couple of months ago and felt I wanted a different boat for ocean touring (all previous experience was on lakes/rivers). I finally decided that I liked a shorter, more maneuverable boat for the ocean and got a Dagger Meridian. I am new to ocean kayaking, but I found that I prefer a little bit different characteristics in a boat that will be used on the ocean than one for use on a lake. I don’t know if this is common, but I found it to be the case for me.

I am in the Army and will be moving again in about 18 months. I am not sure where I will end up, but I doubt that it will be near the ocean so my paddling will probably once again be only on lakes and rivers.

While the Meridian is a great boat, I think that I would prefer a faster, better tracking boat for use on calmer waters. I want to start looking now so that I have plenty of time to make a good decision.

I am 5’8, 175 pounds. I would like a boat that is about 17-18 feet (much over 18 feet and I don’t think I will be able to get it into a standard size garage). Comfort is very imporant as is a good tight fit with solid thigh braces. I would probably prefer a rudder over a skeg, but not necessarily. I like to paddle for fitness so I like a boat that I can push pretty fast across the water.

What would you recommend???

thanks

Matt

flatwater boats
For flatwater you probably don’t need all that snug a cockpit, especially if you like fitness paddling. I feel like a loose cockpit is better for a good forward stroke and snug is unnecessary for the simple edging that is needed for boat control in flatwater. Too snug and you can’t pump the legs or really rotate the torso. There are some flatwater boats that have fairly open cockpits that are very fast on flatwater and fun to paddle.