Fast , light tandem canoes

Have a friend looking for a fast , light tandem canoe. I have a Kevlar MR Malecite and recommended it , but I haven’t paddled many canoes. What other models would you recommend?

use?
Flatwater or whitewater?

Intended load?

My 39 lb kevlar Lotus BJX is for sale.

– Last Updated: Sep-07-06 6:45 PM EST –

Ooops, I thought he was looking for a tandem. I would delete this response, but String's response is attached.

Flatwater , not much load.

– Last Updated: Sep-07-06 3:37 PM EST –

Daytripping . Maybe some light rapids , class 1.

Bell Northstar
I’m no canoe expert, but it’s the nicest one I’ve tried so far.

I’m sure the Wenonah folks will be chiming in soon. A Jensen would certainly be fast if they have the skills.

Wenonah , Jensen 17, kevlar,…
ultralight.

39 pounds, stable, fast and sweet.

My wife and I did thirty miles in it yesterday in 6 hours and 25 minutes.

It also comes in an 18 footer

[[img=http://thumb10.webshots.com/t/46/47/3/81/82/2628381820088080270pRrkmr_th.jpg]](http://community.webshots.com/photo/2628381820088080270pRrkmr)

Cheers,

JackL

some possibilities
Bell Mystic

Wenonah Jensen 17

Savage River Susquehanna

another vote for Bell Nortstar
I have never paddled a Jensen 17, but have been passed by lots of them! The Wenonah quality on other boats I have owned has been very good, too.

From personal experience, I too like the Bell Northstar. My kevlar Northsate is listed at 37#, and while I have not actually weighed it, it sure feels light. It is reasonably fast, a nice looking hull, paddles decently as a solo.

How light and fast?
ever since the USCA redid their rules there have been a lot of 4x32 racing cruisers that are obsolete for racing. Some of the older designs are pretty stabile and fast! The Newer ones are too squirelly and I doubt you would enjoy paddling them.

Nice Pics JackL