Fastest Kayak?

What in you opinion is the best choice of kayak for speed ie racing???

Depends…
What environment – flatwater, open ocean, downriver?

What distance?

What is your skill level?

You need stability before speed, otherwise you will spend more time swimming than paddling (to quote big Oscar, “No one is very fast when upside down”).

Epic has an interesting article on kayak speed at:

http://www.epickayaks.com/news/news/boat-speed-comparison.

In flatwater, either the K1 or a surf ski will probably be the fastest, depending on your skill level.

I’m still learning to master an Olympic K1, and that has been an enjoyable process. I am faster in it for short sprints, in dead-calm water. However, if there is any chop, and for longer distances, I’m faster in my V12 surfski, and the ski is much more stable than the K1.

Greg Stamer

1 Like

Plumbow

– Last Updated: Jun-30-12 1:58 PM EST –

Most people will look at "efficiency" with all
its variables and nuances but it really comes down
to length/beam ratio.

In general, the higher the length to beam ratio,
the faster the kayak.
Short rec boat might be a 7 compared to
a l6.5 for high performance kayaks.

As you approach 6 mph in a kayak, shape/form will
make a difference in speed, handling, performance.

Loki, Huki, Nelo, Epic, Thunderbolt, QCC,
Seda, Nomad, Seward Quest, etc., etc.

World class marathon racers go around 8 mph
for maybe 3 - 4 hours in their kayaks.
Sprinters can achieve more mph on flat water courses
but will be completely spent and out of gas real quick.

Rule of thumb :
Paddling hp needed doubles from 5 to 6 knots

A boat can still be fast made of poly
http://www.valleyseakayaks.com/content/boats/sport/rapier-19-polyethylene

Compare to
http://www.valleyseakayaks.com/content/boats/sport/rapier-20

It comes down to a few percentage points +/-
and the human powerplant on any given day

Boats aren’t fast
paddlers are.