feathered angles (confused)?

Okay. So I was paddling an adjustable Onno and varied from 45 to 60 degrees. Then I got into GP and love the no feather for rolling …but still learning to go straight since unconsciously my muscle memory still thinks its feathered. Now I am just getting into WW (just picked up a jackson 2fun) and needed a play paddle. And since there is no adjustable ferrule paddles in there for smaller folks …I got to pick a feather. I saw one of sale but it was a 30 degree feather. Wondering if all the changes is going to plain screw me up or what.

Thanks.

-Assad

feather angle - you get used to it
I have quite a few different shafts and alternate depending on what I am doing. For surf I use a 30 degree, for regular touring I have an adjustable shaft that I prefer at about 45 but also use a 60 degree when I loan out the other. I find that the first couple of strokes is an adjustment but after that, I don’t notice.

Suz

45-70 range feels OK to me
Unfeathered feels very weird. YMMV.

Ditto
adaptation times lessen with familiarity and use with each feather angle. Best thing to do, before actually doing the run with the boat is spend 5-10 minutes in a back eddy and just stroke, scull, brace and roll on each side.

For white water, I don’t really notice any difference from the popular feather of 45 or 30 degrees. Where I notice a difference is in doing a backdeck roll (reverse low brace type) which is integral to some of the ww play moves. Here zero offset really helps, especially when new to the technique and not able keep the inboard blade higher up (and preferably out of the water).

I personally prefer my 15 degree (custom Onno) for my white water/surf paddling but I have 45 and 30 degree offset paddles and can use those too.

I hardly ever use my 60 offsets because these are touring paddles and I don’t do much of that these days.

sing

That’s why
it’s really a matter of preference: I paddle unfeathered everywhere with every paddle.