Feedback re Hurrican Santee 116 Sport

I’m looking for a kayak and am seriously considering the Santee 116 Sport.

I love the weight and that’s a very important consideration for me as is having at least a small storage compartment.

I’m not sure about the foot pedals; they seemed a bit awkward, but I was wearing rubber sandals rather than water shoes, so maybe that’s why. Have any other Santee owners noticed pedal awkwardness?

It seemed to head to the right when I intended to go straight, but I am a novice, and it could well have been my paddling ability or the wind. I also tended to wobble a bit while padding. Again, probably me? I will be taking another class next weekend, but I don’t want to buy a boat before then if it has known “cons”.

The last thing is more of a wish. I love the open cockpit, but I wish it was maybe 6 - 8" shorter. I want to paddle into the late fall, and I can’t see a skirt on this boat being really feasible due to the huge cockpit, which I would want for warmth. And also I want to avoid water intake issues. But I don’t want a small cockpit, just one not quite as extreme as the Santee if I can find one. But I don’t know of any other lightweight boats with slightly smaller cockpits. If anyone here does, I would really appreciate it. 40# would be my maximum weight.

Anyway, any comments are appreciated and, again, info about any similar models is also very welcome. My purpose for this boat is exercise and recreation on lakes and slow rivers. Thanks!

feedback & options (long)
Hi Laurel:

no one answered so far, so here’s my take:

I’ve owned a couple of Hurricane boats - not the Santee series but have paddled them. Like you I wanted something light and easy to paddle when I got into kayaking.