Fiberglass Canoe Repair Keel Damage

HI, i need some advise with repairing the bottom of my fiberglass canoe. My friends and I went out on a trip last fall while the rivers were low causing us all to scrape bottom rather frequently. My friends were in plastic kayaks and got out rather clean however my canoe was not so lucky. Repairing a canoe is something I have never done before so I ask is this something I should try to repair myself or take to someone with more expertise?

This link has close up pictures of the damage.

A keel on a fiberglass canoe is not a good sign.
You can repair that one with a couple of coats of clear epoxy resin.

If you are just talking about scratches in the gel coat, I would forget about it. Or if it really bothers you, mark off a 3 inch waterline around the hull and spray paint the bottom.

If those are deeper than they look, I would tend to agree with ppine. Some clear resin, thin clear resin. Then start sanding. Like bondo on a car, if you put it on to thick, you will have a lot more to sand off later.

the scratching is not as much of a concern to me so much as the exposed fiberglass and deep chipping near where i sit while i solo paddle.

what everyone above said.

Its just gel coat damage. Epoxy dab will do
Keels and rivers dont mix well but the keel is there to take tge brubt of rocks and to supply some structure to an inexpensive layup

From what I see in the photo I would just cover the exposed fibers with some epoxy. When the epoxy is fully cured smooth it out if necessary by sanding. The cover the epoxy with some type of touch up paint that approximates the hull color. The paint will get scratched off over time but is easily reapplied.