Fiberglass or Plastic in WV non WW?

Okay, I posted awhile back about looking hard for a Kayak and that all that was around were very few and far between dealers here in West Virginia.

Well I stopped by a couple of them and at both locations both dealers basically told me that no matter were I buy or what I get, not to get a Fiberglass or Kevlar boat for WV rivers.

Since I am very new to this, I will admit that I plan to kayak mostly on calm rivers and lakes, but the dealers have told me that if I go do the Elk river or the Greenbrier (Elk is one that I want to kayak on) that I will hit some rocks. They both told me that if I do get a Glass boat that I will learn real fast how to repair them.

I do not plan to go down any Rapids per say, but on the other hand I don’t have very good knees (I posted this before as well), so portage around large areas is not a very good option.

So I guess to make a long post longer, I am asking those that may paddle in WV rivers and lakes should I stay away from a Glass kayak or will it make that much difference?

If I go with Plastic (I know not the best term) then I have to start my thought and looking all over, but I don’t mind this has been fun.

For what it is worth…
I am not from West Va, or ever paddled there, but please let me throw a few thoughts at you.

A kevlar boat is a little more delicate than a fiberglass one, and I race my kevlar canoe every year in the New River Canoe races.

The river is a class I river with lots of rocks and gravel bars.

In five years of paddling it, I have only had to do minor repairs, which consisted of applying two part epoxy to the deep scratches that I got, (only once).

If you are going to be primarily paddling quiet lakes and rivers, get whatever boat you want to.

Point No. 2: Why not ask some of the paddlers that you see on the Greenbrier or the Elk what their thoughts are?

Go to one of the put-ins or take-outs on a weekend, and pick some of the paddlers brains.