Fiberglass question

Hey, I am new to fiberglass repair and there is a crack on my bow but I can’t get at it from the inside due to the ballast. Does any one have any tips on how to fix the fiberglass from the outside only?

Thank you

I was actually just looking up product to fix spiderweb cracks earlier but I think that an idea of the extent of the damage is going to be needed for guys to give the best advice on fixing it.

Well. it is a flotation tank, not ballast, but a photograph would be helpful.

You can certainly apply any number of patches from the outside of the canoe.

Yes you are right, should have posted a photo.

I have already removed the cracked glass with my grinder.

You might want to watch some youtube basic fiberglass work videos.
That is a lot more than I was researching how to repair, but it looks like a nice clean area that you should be able to patch like new.
Fiberglass is pretty easy to work with. I don’t know but to me I would think that some spray foam that could be shaped to lay the fiberglass over would make things easier.

1 Like

First of all, are you absolutely sure that the entire area of damage is below the level of the flotation tank? Take a good look under the deck plate.

There are two different types of flotation tanks in composite canoes: open top and sealed. In a sealed tank, the top of the tank is closed and the tank is empty. The air in the tank serves as the floataion. In this type of tank, there is often a small rubber plug with a tiny hole in it to allow for equalization of pressure in and out of the tank. If that is the type of tank you have, be aware that you may no longer have an effective float tank since it is breached.